Talk or walk?

Posted on Updated on

I often hear people talk immensely on their goals and dreams and how one day they will be so happy when they are rich and famous. When I ask them what they have done so far the answer is a resounding, “Well at the moment Icannot afford to do this and that, but when I am…..”

I have to admit, I too was the excuse queen. Did you know that when I was 18 God revealed to me the purpose for my life and I only started this blog 4 years later?! What was I doing during those 4 years… making excuses. I made up excuses including the fact that I did not have time, I had too many assignments to complete and that nobody would listen to me because I was too young. If I knew then what I know now I would swing back the hands of time and do things differently. When I look back how could I have spent whole weekends chilling having drinks with my friends when I could have dedicated one hour just working on Ezahlady and inspiring people? I am not beating myself up but do you get my point? You do not have to make the same mistake I made because four years of time used effectively could have put me on television with a daytime show by now. So that is my next goal and it does not stop there.

I want to highlight to you that time waits for no man. Excuses just keep us in a comfort zone of mediocrity. What is the difference between the people you admire and those you pity? Those who are now millionaires and are a success took time to nurture their goals and dreams. They slowly removed unnecessary distractions and were disciplined enough to prioritize. They knew that if they did not take action then they would fall behind and remain in the rat race. They knew that life gives them exactly what they ask for.

Be honest with yourself, are you really doing what you know you should? What I say in this article may sound redundant but it is the truth. You cannot sow your time, money and energy into fruitless endeavors and expect to reap a fruitful harvest. You cannot plant an apple tree and expect a crop of maize. You cannot spend all of your money on entertainment and expect P10 000 in dividends from an investment fund. You cannot eat pizza and drink all day and expect to look sexy in a pair of shorts.

I have to be honest with you because I hate self-deception. It is very easy for us to deceive ourselves. I used to justify my actions with, “Its too hard, Im not ready, Im addicted…blah blah blah” Argh I got so tired of that limited thinking that I began to be brutally honest with myself. At first I got no results because I did not have a good enough reason to change. You see, I know some things we cannot change by ourselves, for which we need the grace of God. However, after struggling with God and myself it finally clicked that He already gave me the grace and power to improve; I just had to CHANGE MY MIND. IT WAS REALLY JUST A CHOICE. It is a choice to stay in and do something productive as opposed to getting wasted. It is a choice to have boundaries in whatever you choose to do. It is a choice to find alternative forms of entertainment that will also educate and inspire you. It is a choice to have a healthy lifestyle. It is a choice to work on quitting smoking and on drinking responsibly. It is a choice to remain sober. It is a choice to invest your money. It is a choice to get your hair done and to look good. It is a choice to treat people with respect. It is a choice to treat YOURSELF with respect.

I know that we all have different circumstances, but there comes a point in time where we have to take a leap of faith and dare to stand out, dare to do what needs to be done. We need to stop making excuses for our lack of improvement and focus on working towards a goal of changing, with the help of the Holy Spirit, in all areas of our lives. We need to trust God enough to give us strength on the inside and make the right choices with that. I too am growing but one thing I can say is that I see improvements in my life simply because I take action. I suggest you do the same because I want to see you growing and happy and healthy. I want to see you happier, and more confident and outspoken. I want to see you chase your dreams and to realise that the time you have, you must make the most of. Now do you promise me that you will take some time out and take an honest look at yourself? Do not condemn yourself but be honest enough to make the necessary changes. Be blessed.

2 thoughts on “Talk or walk?

    keepingupwiththericandoll said:
    July 21, 2011 at 12:40 am

    Great work Neo. Nothing but true & sensible words.

      EzahLady said:
      July 21, 2011 at 7:57 am

      thank you for your comment, yes it is true Tebogo. We all need to just get moving along with it!

Leave a Reply

