What happened to your goals?

Posted on

We are reaching the end of the year and can you honestly say that you have reached most of the goals you had prepared for yourself?

I was at a seminar today, the key speaker was Mr. Lets Sithole, a Botswana born motivational speaker and corporate coach. He spoke about the importance of keeping our goals in mind and he said something that struck me:

Procrastination does not need your permission to be around.

This is so true. How often do we find ourselves procrastinating and then wonder why our lives are stagnant and unproductive? How much longer are we going to hang around the same people who are happy with us remaining as we are? Remember that human beings are people of certainty so when there is change in you, people feel insecure and that is why very often when you tell someone that you want to change the course of your life the first thing that person is likely to do is discourage you. But you cannot allow that to deter your course because five years from now you are the one who will suffer the circumstances of having not made the necessary change for you to prosper.

From my personal life experience, I can tell you that I only got serious about my goals and changing to meet them, when I realised how much time I had wasted. I had wasted five years. That is so much time… in frivolous behaviour, no direction and no vision. I had wasted time allowing people to dictate to me what I should do with my time; giving into peer pressure. The very same people I thought were heroes have somehow left my life and do not even care about me . I was alone, depressed, disappointed and only had a degree. If I have one regret in life it’s why I did not follow the dreams I had five years ago because I know that if I had, I would be a lot further.

My life is still wonderful because I managed to get back on course. However, I do not want you to make the same mistake because with certain things prevention is better than cure. Do not take the time you have for granted and do not hesitate implementing change when you know you need to. The most painful thing for you will be to wake up one day and realise that you have wasted your life.

Some tips…

1. Cut back your social time. I am not saying you must go into a corner and become boring but if you know that you spend most weekends having drinks and talking rubbish, stop that. Make associations with people who want to become succesful and be around them. Allow them to mentor and encourage you then you will begin to grow. You can then use your evenings to sit back and relax for a few hours but use your days wisely.

2. Write out your goals and figure out steps to achieving them. Each goal has a step that you can take. Baby steps make up the whole picture. Dream big but start small. It works. All the time.

3, Tell procrastination to shut up. If you say you will do it tomorrow you will never do it.

4. When a door shuts figure out how to open it if that is the door you need open.

5. Have confidence in yourself and confidence in the Lord to give you favour and grace. Remember to pray in Jesus’ name and He will direct your steps.

Have a lovely day, and please do not ever second guess yourself. You truly are amazing.

7 thoughts on “What happened to your goals?

    wordsfallfrommyeyes said:
    September 24, 2011 at 3:24 pm

    GOOD question – what happened to your goals. You have them so strong in mind when you’re young. I’m afraid mine have not been reached, and I am no longer inspired.

      EzahLady said:
      September 27, 2011 at 8:27 am

      I can become your personal coach if you want and hold u accountable for everything so that you can reach at least one of your goals. I will do it for free and make skype calls with you once a week. what do you say?

        wordsfallfrommyeyes said:
        September 27, 2011 at 9:25 am

        Agh! Scary! This is a new PC I have (only had it a few months). I don’t think it has skype on it. Thank you VERY, VERY much (this is enormously generous of you) but I think my goals are a little far fetched, not really attainable. When I was a teenager I wanted to be a news reader and I read the newspaper aloud in my bedroom, pretending. In my 20s I wanted to be a voice over artist. I got some work but did not have an agent so sort of fell by the wayside of the preferred and relied upon – but that wasn’t too bad considering I had canvassed myself. Now, I would like to write a book. I think all I can handle at the moment is my WordPress blog as I work full time and do so much menial work in between, in my little household of son and me. I really don’t think I could do more than just the blog. By the way, I noticed you subscribed – thank you enormously; it means you must have liked my words. I am honoured. I will keep the book idea in my heart, but just for now will do the blog. Thank you so much EzahLady, it really is generous of you to offer.

        EzahLady said:
        September 27, 2011 at 10:03 am

        Ok dear. Yes I like your blog thats y i subscribed. Yeah just start writing that book. You never know what may happen. I believe you would make a great author because your writing is great;)

    Emmanuel O Tsalaile said:
    September 26, 2011 at 8:59 pm

    wow!tota Neo ke eng ole bothale jaana.i luv the fact tht u end by sayn we shud remembr 2pray becoz thru god anythng is possible.myself lena hv wasted a bit of tym bt am hapy tht am makn those babe steps and havin a big dream and i no thru god,s grace i shal achiev

      EzahLady said:
      September 27, 2011 at 8:26 am

      With God’s grace all is possible. Thank you

      EzahLady said:
      December 29, 2011 at 3:47 pm

      Yes He can do the impossible Emmanuel

Leave a Reply

